Home and Announcements

Prenomination call



Nusselt-Reynolds Prize


The World Conferences on Experimental Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics and Thermodynamics are being organized under the auspices of the Assembly of World Conferences on Experimental Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics and Thermodynamics. The conferences have been taking place since 1988. Following successful conferences in Dubrovnik (1988, 1991), Honolulu (1993), Brussels (1997), Thessaloniki (2001), Matsushima (2005), Krakow (2009), Lisbon (2013) and Iguazu Falls (2017), where the Tenth World Conference on Experimental Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics and Thermodynamics (ExHFT-10) was held from 11 to 15 June, 2017. This has been the first ExHFT Conference in the southern hemisphere.

The goal of each ExHFT conference is to provide a forum for the exposure and exchange of ideas, bringing together experimental researchers from industry and academia engaged in the areas of thermal and fluid science and engineering.

Papers on all aspects of these research areas, from fundamental and applied to novel experimental techniques and innovative applications are welcome.

Conference topics include, but are not limited to:

Fundamentals Applications
  • Heat and Mass Transfer
  • Fluid Mechanics
  • Thermodynamics
  • Measurement Techniques and Image Processing
  • Heat and Fluid Flow in Micro/Nano Scales
  • Turbulence
  • Multi-Phase Flows
  • Chemical Reaction and Combustion
  • Interdisciplinary Areas in Heat and Fluid Flow
  • Advanced Energy Systems (Fuel Cells, Batteries, Hydrogen Systems)
  • Advanced Environmental Systems (Renewable Energy Sources)
  • Aerospace and Aeronautical Technology
  • Biotechnology and Medical Systems
  • Cryogenics
  • Heat Exchangers
  • Manufacturing Processes
  • Material Processing
  • Micro Electronic Equipment
  • Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems
  • Life Sciences
  • Nanomaterials and Nanotechnology


Officers (alphabetical)
J. Barbosa (BRA)
G. Celata (ITA, vice-president)
C. van der Geld (NLD, president)
Jungho Kim (USA)
S. Maruyama (JPN)
P. Stephan (DEU)

More info


The next conference will take place in 2021. More information will follow in due time.

More info

History Nu-Re prize

Aims of the Nu-Re prize

Lifes and works of Nusselt and Reynolds


More info