## Minutes of the Assembly of World Conferences on Experimental Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics and Thermodynamics

The meeting of the Assembly was held on June 13, Tuesday, from 12:00 to 13:30 during the 9<sup>th</sup> World Conference at Iguazu Falls, Brazil. It was chaired by C. van der Geld, President of the Assembly. The following Assembly members were present:

Officer: J. Barbosa

General Members: P. di Marco, S. Maruyama, J. Szmyd, S. Alekseenko, J. Meyer, J. Patterson, G. Morini, H. Yoshida, C. Colin, J. Kim, D. Murray, A. Pollard, J.R. Thome, A. Tomiyama, I. Roisman, J. Westerweel, G. Ribatski

- 1. *Possible extensions to the agenda and appointing of a secretary*: A no extension in the agenda was unanimous approved. Prof. Ribatski was pointed as secretary of the meeting.
- 2. Approval of the minutes of the last meeting: The president presented the minutes of the last meeting held during the 8<sup>th</sup> World Conference at Lisbon, Portugal on June 8, 2013. The minutes were anonymous approved with a minor modifications.
- 3. Report on the ExHFT-9: The report on the World Conference on Experimental Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics and Thermodynamics (11-15<sup>th</sup> June, 2017) was presented by the local Chairman J. Barbosa (co-organizer with G. Ribatski). The general opinion was that the conference was great on all accounts. The Lead Scientists, general members of the Assembly, were thanked for making a superb reviewing job. The number of submissions of extended abstracts was 320. In addition to the Nusselt-Reynolds lecture, 12 keynote lectures were delivered by internationally recognized experts, 135 papers were presented orally in 5 time slots with 5 parallel sessions, and 61 papers were presented in 1 poster session. These papers address a wide range of topics from fundamental and applied work, to novel experimental techniques and innovative applications. Not a single no-show was observed until the meeting of the assembly. The conference counted 205 participants. A book of abstracts and a CD-ROM with the full papers were distributed to all participants. Authors of selected papers have been invited to submit their work to Experimental Thermal and Fluid Science and Experimental Heat Transfer, where special issues with accepted peer reviewed papers will be published.
- 4. Report on Nu-Re Prize by C. van der Geld: The Nusselt-Reynolds Prize was award to Prof. John R. Thome for outstanding contributions to the experimentation, visualization and modelling of macro- and micro-scale two-phase flow and two-phase heat transfer, application of this science to the development of new thermal technologies of industrial importance, and for the broad dissemination of this work to the engineering community in five authored books. Prof. van der Geld, replacing Prof. José M. Saíz-Jabardo (vice chair of the Nu-Re Prize Committee), reported on the work of the Prize Committee. The Committee has decided unanimously to award the Prize to Prof. John R. Thome.

## 5. *New memberships*:

The following members expired: H. Choi, A. Luke, T. Niimi, A. van Steenhoven, C.C. Wang, K. Breuer.

Prof. Shigenao Maruyama (Tohoku University, Japan) and Jungho Kim (University of Maryland, USA) have been appointed as Officers of AWC.

The following members have been presented and appointed:

C. Markides (Imperial College, UK), S. Mitra (University of Waterloo, Canada), M.de Paepe (Ghent University, Belgium), Suresh Garimella (USA, Purdue University), Srinivas Garimella (Georgia Tech, USA), C. le Niliot (Aix-Marseille University, France), K. Sefiane (University of Edinburgh, UK), B. Palm (KTH, Sweden), Sung Jin Kim (KAIST, Korea), X.G. Liang (Tsinghua University, China)

The following general members have been reappointed until the end of the 11<sup>th</sup> World Conference:

S. Alekseenko (Institute of Thermophysics, Russia), J. Patterson (University of Sidney, Australia), P. Coelho (Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal), P. Garstecki (Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland), K. Kowalewski (Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland), J. Meyer (University of Pretoria, South Africa), G. Morini (University of Bologna, Italy), B.S. Sunden (Lund Institute of Technology, Sweden), J.R. Thome (EPFL, Switzerland), C. Tropea (TU Darmstadt, Germany), J. Westerweel (TU Delft, Netherland), H. Yoshida (Kyoto University, Japan)

Prof. José M. Saíz-Jabardo has been pointed out the new Nu-Re Prize Committee Chair and Prof. Darina Murray as vice chair. The other members became:
R. Adrian, USA; A. Bar-Cohen, USA; P. Cheng, China; K.R. Sreenivasan, USA;
Hideo Yoshida, Japan; Khellil Sefiane (UK); Cameron Tropea (Germany).

6. For the organization of the next conference, ExHFT10, only one proposal has been put to the floor:

Rhodes, Greece (Prof. T. Karapantsios, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki; either 25-28 April 2021 or 13-17 June 2021)

The Assembly members found that the proposal is reasonable and it was agreed to invite the Greek local organizing committee to organize the tenth World Conference. However, after some discussions and debate it was suggested to ask to hold the conference on the first week of June.

## 7. Any old and new business:

The need of AWC to look for collaborations to improve its visibility and attract more people to its conferences was recognized and discussed. Prof. John R. Thome suggested to let ASTFE cosponsor the World Conferences provided they would not require taking the lead. It was decided that Prof. John R. Thome would contact Prof. Yogesh Jaluria about the interest of ASTFE on co-sponsor conferences with AWC.

It was decided that a website will be made for the AWC and that this website will move on with the President of AWC. As the actual President of the Assembly, Prof. C. van der Geld was appointed as responsible for the elaboration of the website.